Oct 9, 2010

Arnold, please.

Predators (2010)

When I first heard about the new Predator-based movie (Predators, 2010), I was mildly amused. However I was not amused at any point in time during the movie, and especially not after it was over. Here's why:

- The movie tries too hard to become a remake of the original
- The whole concept of hunting became a bit of a joke. What next, Predator safari?
- Not a single memorable character, least of all Lawrence Fishburne

Going into a little detail / rant about Predators (2010), I felt having 3 Predators this time around was a bit of an overkill for 9 non-Arnold Schwarzenegger characters. In the 1987 original, just 1 Predator alone was a hell of a handful for 7 top tier soldiers, but in Predators (2010) we have a team of 10 WIMPS faced with THREE Predators.

I personally thought t references drawn to the original movie were hilariously bad.

- A girl character who talks about how "this year it gets hot"
- Topher Grace wearing glasses / Hawkins wearing glasses
- Lawrence Fishburne whispering "Over here!" / Mac whispering "Over here!"
- Falling off a waterfall

Arnold Brody - the Predator killer - obviously

My biggest gripe with Predators was that the whole movie was taking place on an alien planet! So like, despite being SO INTERRIGENTO, the Predator boys have nothing better do in life but put together a jungle set neatly replicating the original. Seriously, do they have such great set designers on their planet? Also why didn't they replicate the city from Predator 2? Because IIRC that's where their space-ship landed the last time around.

And why didn't they use their favorite catch-phrase "You're one ugly mother%%%%%%" on Adrien Brody at least even once?

Number of shocks - 1 (Danny Trejo)
Number of twists - 1 (I actually watched it to the end)
Story - 4/10
Replay value - LOL/10
Better than Aliens vs Predator? - Yes/10