Oct 9, 2010

Arnold, please.

Predators (2010)

When I first heard about the new Predator-based movie (Predators, 2010), I was mildly amused. However I was not amused at any point in time during the movie, and especially not after it was over. Here's why:

- The movie tries too hard to become a remake of the original
- The whole concept of hunting became a bit of a joke. What next, Predator safari?
- Not a single memorable character, least of all Lawrence Fishburne

Going into a little detail / rant about Predators (2010), I felt having 3 Predators this time around was a bit of an overkill for 9 non-Arnold Schwarzenegger characters. In the 1987 original, just 1 Predator alone was a hell of a handful for 7 top tier soldiers, but in Predators (2010) we have a team of 10 WIMPS faced with THREE Predators.

I personally thought t references drawn to the original movie were hilariously bad.

- A girl character who talks about how "this year it gets hot"
- Topher Grace wearing glasses / Hawkins wearing glasses
- Lawrence Fishburne whispering "Over here!" / Mac whispering "Over here!"
- Falling off a waterfall

Arnold Brody - the Predator killer - obviously

My biggest gripe with Predators was that the whole movie was taking place on an alien planet! So like, despite being SO INTERRIGENTO, the Predator boys have nothing better do in life but put together a jungle set neatly replicating the original. Seriously, do they have such great set designers on their planet? Also why didn't they replicate the city from Predator 2? Because IIRC that's where their space-ship landed the last time around.

And why didn't they use their favorite catch-phrase "You're one ugly mother%%%%%%" on Adrien Brody at least even once?

Number of shocks - 1 (Danny Trejo)
Number of twists - 1 (I actually watched it to the end)
Story - 4/10
Replay value - LOL/10
Better than Aliens vs Predator? - Yes/10

4 comments:

Funky Strong said...

all recent Alien/Predator stuff has been just pathetic

haven't watched this and have no intention, but the last one I watched had fetishes for UNCOOL humans, shaky cams, gratitious monster close ups and flickering lights

it's like, clearly I was not supposed to be able to enjoy this movie and tell WTF is going on with the titular monsters

Badmash said...

Honestly man. Aliens stopped being good since Aliens and Predator never really needed a sequel.

In fact I fear remakes are just around the corner. With Ashton Kutcher as Arnold Schwarzenegger. Miley Cyrus as Sigourney Weaver. And Justin Bieber as Newt.

Tokaro said...

Someday they'll make Aliens vs. Predator vs. Batman vs. Superman The Movie and all will be forgiven.

I'm am quite pleased to find out that I am not alone in thinking that 'Predators' was a POS, I'm of the mind set that it is slightly better than AVP, worse than Predator 2 and MUCH WORSE than Predator 1.


Topher Grace is a terrible actor, mostly because I will always see him as Eric Forman and never take him seriously in the least.

Badmash said...

i see topher grace as venom and therefore as an embarrassment.