Mar 23, 2009

Racist Evil 5?










Hey everyone, it's Tokaro. I've been pre-occupied with some projects as well as Street Fighter IV and Killzone 2. Now, Gamespot recently posted an article concerning racism within recent video game Resident Evil 5. Now as a black male, I look at this game and think one of two things. It's not racist or it's about as racist as the last one.

http://www.gamespot.com/news/blogs/sidebar/909182374/25817098/resident-evil-5-stirs-concerns-of-racism.html

Resident Evil 5 takes place in Africa, thus the infected (Majini) are predominately black. I think gaming journalism needs to get a better grasp of racism. Resident Evil 5 was not created to bring about the destruction of the black race or perpetrate any anti-black discussion or thought. If it was, they could have done it in many, many other ways. You see racism is what one percieves, you look at the situation and you either take it as offense or you do not. This gauges what one would percieve as "racist".

The Africans in Resident Evil 5 are not depicted in a stereotypical way, they have a range of skin types and complexions. The bridge of the nose is realistically pronounced and the facial expression is not that of a guy in blackface.

So I've come to the conclusion that the issue of racism is thrown out by game journalism because of the large playing part of black people in this game, race has become more apparent recently given Barack Obama's induction as the president of the United States. CNN and other Turner channels have shown a variety of "Black in America" type of programs and have not let go of the fact that Barack Obama is a black man.

This sort of recent racial projection has become more and more common post election, also let me give you this. The majority gaming community is comprized of pasty 15-year old foul mouthed caucasian teenagers with a B- to D average due to their lack of awareness and work ethic. Since when have these people been the racial philosphers of our day and age? These people are barely socially aware let alone racially aware. These are the kinds of people who think getting a girlfriend will magically make life wonderful and all your acne will go away and your pecker will grow several extra inches. These people know second-hand rough cut grade school level knowledge about Civil Rights, Martin Luther King Jr., Malcolm X and The Black Panthers.

If you asked your average racial avenger from GameFAQs about Eldridge Cleaver, Jim Crow Laws or James Baldwin you'd most likely get a "lolwut?"

If someone utters the word "negro" they'll jump at you thinking it shares the same meaning as the endearing and cold "nigger". This is the very ignorance I'm talking about. Also did Resident Evil 4 get flak for the depiction of the Spanish? Did Far Cry 2? That game is legitimately about the African militia men and the bloody legacy of diamonds and firefights in the African plain. Army of Two depicts the war in Somalia, is Army of Two racist? Basically anything with a black person in it is racist. And jeez Gamespot, you could have called Capcom on something actually tangeble instead of working to extrapolate on an issue that doesn't exist.

Look at Oil Man!



















RESIDENT EVIL 5












RACISM




















In closing, read a book you ignorant sods. Resident Evil 5 isn't anti-black propaganda that Capcom whipped up. It's just another mediocre third-person "survival horror" shooter.

Mar 18, 2009

reviewing a bunch of crap on my day off.. (like i have nothing better to do..)

k, first thing's first.

video games are ruining my life.. why? besides important stuff that i will eventually buy, i always end up buying something(s) video game related.

i haven't posted on this spot in a while so i've been compulsively spending on crap that i don't need.

in my long absence i managed to pick up the following things:

hori fighting stick ex 2
street fighter iv
resident evil 5
mad world
dead rising : chop til' you drop
hori fighting stick wii
and a x-box live points card for 1600 points (for watchmen : the end is nigh)

first off the fighting stick ex 2,

it's a solid stick all around, i got it around january. the build is hefty, but not overkill. and the buttons are responsive along with the joystick (which clicks, indicating what directions you're moving the stick.)

the layout of the buttons are perfect, japanese style, and easy for me to curve my fingers without hitting the case (damn US style button layouts..)

i mean, it's not a high end stick, but it's a pretty damn good stick, and still the best "standard" stick out there. for a second i was thinking that maybe the madcatz standard fight sticks would actually best the hori, but we eventually found out that it was too good to be true and that madcatz are addicted to bad ideas.

overall i love this stick, and it's a huge step up when you've been playing with a 360 pad for fighting games. 9/10

street fighter iv's review will be short. it's capcoms best first try since street fighter 2. the controls are fluid and responsive, the visuals are gorgeous and hilariously over exaggerated, the new systems are great, especially the addition of focus attacks. the online aspect could've been so much better, especailly in ranked matches. player matches seem to remedy this..

it's the 2-d fighter we've been waiting for on the 360. it gets a 9. it would score higher if there were to be a patch fixing online components in the game. it would be a perfect game if it gets those minor tweaks.

resident evil 5 looks amazing, the controls from re 4 are there and they're a bit more refined. i hate having to watch over a computer generated partner, and why the f@$K are chainsaw weilding maniacs unable to die? like this is ridiculous, this chainsaw dude is as thin as a rail and all of a sudden the $h!#head thinks he's superman!? stupid. it's still a fun game, i'm not an RE fan though. 8.5

madworld is what manhunt would have been if it were good. it's hilarious, campy, cheesy, incredibly violent, and vulgar; the visuals are stylish, a pimp introducing a new deathwatch challenge and getting killed after his monologues is gold. the controls are fluid, making every impossible situation that comes at you, seem like second nature. carnage is bliss.
9.0

dead rising : chop til you drop is wii's version of 360's dead rising, which was released in 06. it uses resident evil 4's engine and it turns out to be a little more forgiving that the 360 version. the visuals are ok, but the character models are pretty damn detailed. the controls are fluid (though i question the swinging aspect of the motion controls...), every weapon is at your disposal, and it's a linear game, meaning you're kinda forced to help civilians, whereas, in the original game, you can choose not to, but you will be rewarded one of many endings (in this case a bad one.)

it's a fun little zombie torture game. for 40 bucks you get the best dawn of the dead game on wii ever.

7.5

hori fighting stick wii:

i bought this for tatsunoko vs. capcom. this stick feels better than the 360 hori stick, and it's 40 bucks. the buttons feel snappy, the stick is the same as the 360 version, it's got some bells and whistles like turbo functions and all that, its kinda wireless (kinda since you still have to plug it to your wii-mote.) it's probably the best stick i have right now. playing TvC on this thing was challanging at first but i got used to it in a few minutes. very responsive in every aspect. it's a great stick, and anyone who needs a great stick for your wii fighting games...all 5 of them.

9.5 (turbo functions are pointless to me...and the eight button layout is ridiculosly uncessary, hori should've opted for a simple 6 button scheme, without turbo functions.)

watchmen : the end is nigh

capitalizing on my current watchmen addiction, i opted to unlock the full game on x-box live. it's not to be taken as a SERIOUS, deep game, more or less a simple arcade beat-em up. for what it does, it does well, it's certainly the best looking downloadable 360 game right now.

the story takes place in the 70's before watchmen were together, specifically, during the crimebusters era. the game is told in a moving graphic novel, narrated by rorschach and nite owl.

i give it a 7, because i personally like beating the living crap out of random thugs in alley ways with rorschach. especially rorschach.

this is only part one of a 6 part game, hopefully they progressively get better.

k, that's it i'm done.

Mar 15, 2009

Killzone 2 Review, late but present

Killzone 2 is pretty much a really solid FPS but does not do anything ground breaking at all. This review was going to be IN DEPTH, but i dont feel like it anymore so i will be brief.

the single player is kind of annoying but thankfully not very long. its not a short game really, but it doesnt drag on and on. the characters are 50% likable, and 50% go to Hell, Michigan. but no one got Killzone 2 for the single player.

the multiplayer was fun for a bit, but right now its real annoying because everyone is just trying to rank up and get the rest of their classes and weapons and abilities. so the games are not exactly going as they are supposed to. as soon as the majority of games are full of people who pretty much are where they want to be in their chosen class setup, the games will get real fun again.

Killzone 2, 8.5/10

Mar 13, 2009

HELL SINGH anime review

No, this isn't the crossbreed of VAN HELSING and HELLBOY. (Yes it is.)

I heard a lot of good things about this manga called HELLSING and happened to find it at the local DVD store. I was going to pick up either TENCHI MUYO or GUNGRAVE instead, but decided to go for HELLSING anyway. Here's why I wish I hadn't.

1. It's boring and paced in super slow motion.

2. The main character's name is ALUCARD, but he's nothing like AL from CVANIA SOTN. No, this guy is dressed in DANTE's garb from DMC, has jet black hair that is badly drawn if he takes off his hat. Plus all his teeth are long, sharp canines. And he wears gold-tinted round sunglasses that will make you wonder why his name isn't TUPAC.

3. Characters are badly designed and poorly drawn. Then again, maybe that's the way it's just supposed to be.

3. It took me 2 months to watch 4 episodes.

7. Why does everyone have to speak in Brit cockney?

4. I really should've got TENCHI MUYO instead.


Story
A secret organization called THE HELLSING SECRET ORGANIZATION has been organized to hunt down vampires and ghouls (people bitten in the ass by vampires). This organization is run by a guy called MISS VICTORIA HELLSING and has its own secret army, complete with expendable soldiers, machine guns, and a half-man / half-vampire called ALUCARD.


Over-all score and recommendation
Considering that I've only watched the first DVD, it's hard to recommend this anime. But by the looks of it, I doubt I'll be recommending this to anyone even after watching all 4 DVDs.

Mar 10, 2009

Scheming

March 2009 is running away pretty fast. Time's running out. There's too much on my mind to focus on any one thing.

Scratch the 360. Too much of a hassle to play within time limits so that it doesn't blow up. Plus summer is closing in, so there's more chances of it over-heating.

Too early for the PS3. I want another $100 to go down and like 100 games on it to actually consider the purchase. The Blu Ray schtick doesn't really tickle my sideburns at the moment coz I'm not into movies anyway.

PC gaming. Hmm. Can you spell LOL?

No, my best side-plan will be to concentrate on the guitar, continue with collecting ideas to put a script together and make a movie in 2010.

Mar 6, 2009

the problem with women

lemme tell you why i'm so negative about women.

they've lost all the values, ethics, morals, decency, grace and integrity that women once used to have. now all they want is money, more money, cars, a big mansion, more money, a career, and a little more money. an affair on the side. and no responsibility.

in the last 10 years, each and every single woman whom i've met has been either depressed, or mentally unstable, or had poor health, or wanted to die for fame & fortune, or wanted a summer fling but nothing serious, or could simply not imagine staying at home for a whole day.

man, none of my video-game consoles have ever been any of that.

someone should tell national geographic that sensible women are now a rare-species.

Mar 1, 2009

Tomb Raider Underworld | PS2 | PAL

There is something I should elaborate before I begin this review: this game sucks.

That said, I can't really say that I enjoyed playing the PAL version of TOMB RAIDER UNDERWORLD on my PS2. That's probably because I didn't. And here's why:

1. The first thing you will find everyone whining about is that the controls for this game are sluggish and do not respond. Forget that! The truth is, they totally forgot to punch in the programming for controls. You don't even need to make Lara turn left or right - just press and hold UP to run, and if you need to turn, just move the camera that way. So for 90% of the game, you're just holding UP on the analog-stick.

2. I believe I had to fight 2 jaguars, 6 mystic un-dead dogs, and maybe 4 viking spirits in the whole game. I just slid past everything else. I don't even recall any bosses.

3. Jumping from ledge-to-ledge - which is probably a TOMB RAIDER trademark - will 8/10 times result in instant death if you are by chance moving the camera at the same time.

4. The biggest puzzle in the game is learning how to swim. I will not say a word because it took me 10 minutes to figure out on my own. If I tell you how, that will be the biggest spoiler of the entire game.

5. Another huge puzzle is when after a quick cinematic, you see Lara get off her bike and ready to get going. SPOILER: After running ahead for like 15 minutes, you will find out that you actually had to get back on the bike. So it's time to run ALL THE WAY BACK to the bike that you abandoned 15 minutes ago, get on it and then clear the area.

In fact, this was a bigger puzzle than the swimming controls.

6. The controls for Lara's motor-bike may be hazardous to your PS2 controller, especially if you happen to have a mallet nearby. Also, her bike runs on jet fuel because the engine doesn't freeze in stages where the temperature is like 500 degrees below.

7. The biggest new feature in this whole game is Lara's hair, which sometimes falls down to the front of her neck. And for those of you who want to get this game just to see her clothes and skin get all wet when she surfaces from underwater - they don't ;-(

Story score - 0/10
Box-art score - 8/10
Un-lockable features score - Should remain locked (with Ed Boon and Itagaki)
Graphics - 7/10
Slowdown score - Insane/R'tarded
Underwater and bike stage scores - Garbage / 1,000
Bad-guy design score - Horrible/MIDWAY
I'd play this than Tomb Raider Anniversary - No way/$1 Million
Overall score - Play any other game/All games ever made