Nov 9, 2009

G.I.*JOE (2009)

Summary: I watched it twice
G.I.*Joe is a fun movie. It's not amazing, it's not Oscar material, it's not even intelligent. It's pure mindless fun, and it gets full marks for not wasting 4 hours of my life.

Then again, I've been a mindless G.I.*Joe fanboy for as long as I remember, so my opinion may not count. At the same time I'm also a Spider-Man and Transformers fan, but I can tell you a secret - their last two movies were terrible.

Public reception: Empty hall
It wasn't very heartening to sit in a barely-there crowd for both times that I went to the local Cineplex to watch G.I.*Joe - The Rise of Cobra. Then again, what was I expecting? Summer vacations are over and kids are in school or in detention. And 90% of the rest don't even know what G.I.*Joe is because it has nothing to do with Miley Cyrus.

It was a relief however to not stand in an endless queue only to get a ticket for a movie that may turn out to be garbage. I remember gate-crashing for Transformers 2 not too long ago, and that movie was the worst thing I've ever seen in my life. I got the tix for Joe in less than a minute. (What queue?)

My favorite review of Transformers 2

Performances: LOL, except Ray Park
The characters who made the movie worth watching were Storm Shadow, the Baroness, Snake Eyes and General Hawk. Everyone else was simply reading off their lines from the script. I've seen emoticons show more emotion than Duke / Channing Tatum.

The most over-the-top performances were by "Commander" and the President. Doctor Mindbender almost made the list with his impression of a gay hobo.

Storm Shadow and the Baroness made every scene they were in worth watching. You can simply fast forward the entire movie and just watch their parts because they're that much fun. And Snake Eyes - nuff said.

G.I.*Joe >
Star Trek
Trashformers 2 Revenge of the Failure
Hitman
Max Payne
James Bond 007 Quantum of Nonsense

Final Score: 70%

6 comments:

Funky Strong said...

And liked and disliked the movie.

The ninjas weren't all that highly visible, but it still have a B Plot Romance. It had nice action and a schizophrenic plot that was in that nasty area between "funny excuse plot" and "plot that takes itself too seriously."

I'd say it's a 50% good movie. Everything that I thought was awesome was also paired with something stupid.

IMO / 10

Badmash said...

yeah man. although i can watch the paris chase scene 3 times in a row and not get bored. also all the parts with storm shadow and the baroness. everything else i can pretty much skip through and not care.

Tokaro said...

I agree with Cobalt for the most part, it was a pretty decent reinvisioning of the Joe franchise I thought and I loved the CG running suits. Baroness is hot and that Scarlet chick has fake bewb enhancements.

All and all, Dr. Mindbender was so creepy and Rex had the coolest limp in history. Destro was lame (lol nanomachines) and Cobra Commander was lame (that helmet was BAAAAAAAAALLLS!!!)

55% out of 100%

Badmash said...

that helmet is from the marvel comics version man, the "armor" version (CC's blue and white battle-suit that came after his hood version) - - - and it was r-tarded.

Tokaro said...

Yeah the B Plot Romance including Baroness kicking Duke in the FACE!!! God damn it, she looks too much like Sarah Palin.

Badmash said...

haha she does - and i especially liked that kick in the face!! WHOMP!