Jan 25, 2010

Next Gen Gaming (2010)

There used to be a time when garbage like ATARI 2600 used to be fun - remember?


RIVER RAID - a game as old as Chuck Norris - and just as much fun


I don't remember hearing about my ATARI 2600 crapping out on me in the middle of a game or giving me a red ring of death. In fact, it had a red light of "POWER ON" AFAIK. That's called "doing things right."

Man, the A-2600 had like a huge bunch of different games to choose from. The genre was a little more than "FPS" and "RPG" even with its 1-bit processing capacity. So I guess "going next gen" means playing 15 different FPS games - that are basically all the same BTW, but with different weapons and maps. Because we're talking NEXT GEN here. And leveling up in FINAL ONLINE FANTASY for the rest of my life.

Or maybe I'll watch those little colorful sprites drop down from the top of the screen and I have to press the corresponding button to make some music. Because this is something that the ATARI 2600 has never done before.

How about that game where you go out in the street, force your neighbor out of his car, run down a couple of innocent bystanders and take wild potshots at the boys in blue. But maybe I shouldn't try this at home, so I'll go do it outside and win Game Of The Year prize in real life.

They don't make 'em like they used to anymore.

Mash / 2010

1 comment:

Funky Strong said...

I couldn't agree more. Every goddamn new game coming out is the same.

Yet, for some reason, I caved and started buying next gen games that everyone else was interested in. Before, all I would buy are fighting games and shmups that no one else in the universe cared about, like Street Fighter, BlazBlue, Ikaruga, Tekken, and Silent Hill. The only game I ever played that was mainstream was Left 4 Dead.

But something possessed me and I bought Dragon Age. It's a totally average game that for some reason I can't play for less than 12 hours at a time.

It's a fine game, and I enjoy it, but I don't think I'd enjoy any other RPG this console generation. Pretty much, if you've played one, you've played them all.

I might still get FF13 because it looks like it'll be a cool 70 hour movie. Not expecting gameplay out of my purchase, tho, just the antics of a couple cute lesbians and guy with a baby chocobo living in his afro.

But FPS games, JAYZUS. If you've played one, you've played ever goddamn World War 2, sci-fi, and "modern war" game around. I cannot fathom why there was so much hype for Modern Warfare 2 when it's basically the same game as Counter-Strike, or any other CoD game.

I wonder if there is a latent hypocrisy in my ranting, such I dislike 90% of current games and would not buy them, but still intend to buy and thoroughly play the following:

-Super Street Fighter IV
-Neo Geo SKNfest HD
-Final Fantasy 13
-Left 4 Dead 2
-BlazBlue: Continuum Shift
-Batman

But I find myself far too busy to worry about that. It's almost as if being burdened with responsibilities gives me license to not care and just play my goddamn games whenever I have time for them.