Mar 24, 2010

I WILL PROTECT THIS WORLD also eating crow...


Some people found my review of FF XIII...well bad and after re-reading it, it's pretty weak. I went on more of a anti-Square-Enix rant than I did write a review. I still don't like XIII or anything but I think I could have done it more justice than what I wrote about it. ColbatReign is right to a degree but I believe in a lot of the things I said about the game. I think Final Fantasy XIII is a C+ game and people want it to be an A+ game so they give it that very ranking.


But anyway, TATSUNOKO vs. CAPCOM: Ultimate All-Stars!!

Tatsunoko vs. Capcom, the game that no one thought would come out here was released late January for the Nintendo Wii. You pit the heroes like Ken the Eagle of Gatchaman of anime giant, Tatsunoko Ltd. against some of Capcom's finest such as Ryu and Viewtiful Joe in traditional Vs. style combat.

Gameplay

The combat is similar...ok exactly like Marvel vs. Capcom except with a couple less infinites and a bit of a polish. New features are implemented in combat such as the Barouque technique. Baroque allows you to recharge meter by sacrificing some of your health. The old Advancing Guard feature returns in this game as well. The game is a 4 button fighter- it used Light, Mid, Heavy and Partner. You have your basic super techniques as well as Lv.3 supers, that are much stronger but are aren't as safe. Also, Ryu is top tier and that is awesome. Given it is on the Wii, it uses the Nintendo Wi-Fi feature to initiate laggy online combat! Actually, the online is pretty decent for the Wii. I've come to the realization that people online hate Tekkaman Blade. TvC doesn't try to innovate on the Vs. combat, it is already a standard in the fighting games community. Capcom knows that players like big combos and crazy flashy effects and deliver.

Visuals

This is one of the prettiest games on the Nintendo Wii by far; I like the shininess of it all. The game looks like it has a very slick polish but also retains that cel-shaded anime feel. It's very faithful to it's source material. TvC is developed by the good folks at Eighting who are responsible for the Naruto: Clash of Ninja games. They've kept that authentic Tatsunoko look and did the Capcom characters justice. The backgrounds aren't that lively, the Gesshelshaft being the only one that has some actual stuff going on while you're fighting. I think the Vs. series sort of lost that sense of action in the bg. Like in Marvel Super Heroes vs. Street Fighter, you had backgrounds like the mall where full on riots were going on and you could see some Marvel and Capcom characters chilling out but meh. It is a solid looking game.

Sound

I like a few of the seiyuus but I'm not going to lie, I don't dig most of them. Also, they took out all of the Capcom tracks like Theme of Roll. That is MY JAM, SON! I think the placeholder tracks are solid and all but I would have preferred the original music. Alex's voice is awful. Downright bad! I don't know if it's just the having nostalgia for the 3s voice but man, so bad. YUU CAN'T ES KAPE! Nice try, Hiroki Yasumoto. It could use some work.

Overall

Tatsunoko vs. Capcom is a very fun game that I've sunk tons of time into. It is a pretty polished game but the game could use some tier balancing. I wouldn't say it's going to be the best fighting game of the year or anything but it is definitely a buy.

Score: 8.5/10


No comments: