so i pulled out the old N64, and started playing some old carts that i enjoyed as a kid. i popped in snowboard kids, and decimated the ENTIRRREE game in less than a day. (it's not a hard game btw.)
i'm super OCD, and i pop in carts left and right, and i'm playing flying dragon, some US AKI wrestling games, (all 4 of them if you don't count the 2 japanese releases.) the two goemon games, snowboard kids 2, star wars : shadows of the empire, ssb, and mega man 64.
i'm left with the urge to feel something more. so i go to ebay, and buy almost every game i used to own on the 64, for DIRT cheap, plus some other ones that i always wanted to check out. let's call this the N64 series of reviews, where i start with whatever cart i have in my collection that i think highly about, and will share my thoughts on why i think it's great.
so i went on ebay and ordered the following:
virtual pro wrestling 64
virtual pro wrestling 2
mortal kombat trilogy (for teh lulz, this was one of my first N64 games ever, and i prefer this over the PS1 version)
mischief makers
south park (for teh lulz, got this with LoZ : OoT christmas of 98)
the legend of zelda : OoT
the legend of zelda : makora's mask
Mega Man 64 (i have a JP version that i can't play... i wonder why??)
some accessories as well :
one new controller ($^*$ing purple FTW!!)
expansion pak
so the first game on my list is VPW2.
it's the first game i recieved, and that cart came the land of the rising sun, all the way to my place in jersey in practically no time.
i'll make this informative as possible, i'm still trying to navigate through the menus and whatnot.
this game is absolutely amazing. a wrestling fan's dream, the perfect 3-d wrestling game. 100 wrestlers from different promotions, you have cats like hayabusa, the great muta, big van vader, giant baba, and kenta kobashi. you also got shoot fighters (aka cage fighters) thrown in the mix. this is basically a mixed martial arts/ wrestling sim.
the controls are standard and work perfectly, as does every aki wrestling game ever released on the n64. it's simple, yet complex enough to really pull you in, and it's equally rewarding to the player. it ditches the glitz and glamour of the WWF/WCW games that were released in the US, and focuses on the JP mindset of professional wrestling..treating it as an actual sport, than a sideshow. it almost feels like i'm playing a sports game, but a really awesome one.
it's got arenas based on real japanese locations a prime example of this is the budoukan.
the audio track are mixed, when you're using the licensed wrestlers, you get their themes and everything. but when you use other wrestlers, you get that generic, midi rock crap that aki abuses.
the sound effects are great, from bodies hitting the canvas, to every slap, punch, slam and grunt...it's all there.
it's got an AWESOME season mode, an AWESOME create a mask mode, and an AWESOME edit mode, almost as good as fire pro wrestlings... you can make almost anybody. the movelists are near endless, having moves that never appeared on the US releases.
just $%#^ing play it, if you appreciate wrestling games, and want to play sadly, the best ever 3-d wrestling game in existance, get a 64 off of ebay, or get a hold of an emulator, and enjoy.
100/100
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
2 comments:
i bet Maxie is going to give your post a 29.99/10
i've actually been considering picking up a gamecube, but then again i might just reconsider!
Post a Comment