Apr 4, 2009

So I got done reading Watchmen.

It's a great mini-series, and I'm onlay 29.99 years late.

Watchmen "decontructs" the super-hero genre by protraying all of the heroes in a very negative-ish light. They're men and women with flaws and vices, even if intentions are good imo. There are not even any villians in Watchmen: The heroes are enough.

http://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Main/Deconstruction

That's Watchmen to superheroes, full stop.

I don't get why everyone loves Rorschach so much. He's bat crap nuts.

But yeah, this series got me back into comic books. I'm going to have to check out Alan Moore's other stuff, like V for Vendetta and League of Extraordinary Gentlemen.

BTW this blag poast is really just a bait to lure you into TV Tropes.

4 comments:

Elliott said...

people love rorschach because they dont understand how honestly horrifying a person like that would be. they just think its "bad ass".

the worst part about watchmen is that in the 20 years following its release there were tons of "serious, realistic" superhero comics made that took inspiration from it. despite the fact that it showed just how unworkable serious realistic superheroes are as heroes.

also, i hate tv tropes because it makes me waste more hours than i would like

Elliott said...

also, as far as other alan moore stuff goes, you can't go wrong with Top Ten

Badmash said...

i've been meaning to read Watchmen for a whole month. i think i illegally downloaded it in march. no, february. the key-word here is illegally downloaded.

M.Duran said...

cobalt, you just answered your own question about rorschach.