Dec 13, 2008

tatsunoko vs. capcom review

didn't i promise this sometime ago?

anyway, i finally snagged a copy of this game last night, after work.

i have the righteous story posted on gamefaqs, so you guys can read that part there...

i originally wanted to tell this review in pictures, but i'm too tired.

first off, if you ever plan on buying this game, you need one of the following:

- japanese wii
- mod chip
- wiibrew/gecko os loader
- wii freeloader (only works with firmware 3.2 and lower.)

if you have any of those, you're good to go.

from the start, you get 18 characters, you can unlock an additional 4 characters with points you win from completing game modes such as:

arcade
time attack
survival
and,
mini-game mode

there are also other modes like training, versus, options, you know the standard 2-d fighter deal.

gameplay is provided via 4 button control scheme, you have a partner button, a weak attack, a medium attack and a strong attack. this may turn off gamers that are used to playing with a 6-button set up, though i admit, at first i was a bit turned off by the set-up, as time with the game progressed it became second nature, and actually feels right with this game.

you can also do the following:

aerial raves (air combos)
tag out aerial (V. Aerial Rave)
baroque (cancels out of a combo, requires red health to execute.)
mega crash (TvC's version of GG's burst)
double team supers
delayed team supers
regular supers
double jumping
triple jumping (for a few characters)
dashing
air dashing
push blocking (or advanced guard)

you put all of this stuff together, and you have one pretty sweet fighter.

the different options of movement, and how to win a match really makes up for the lack of a 6 button control scheme.

you have pretty much a one, two punch, flashy visuals, combos, solid control set-up, very responsive, fast paced fighting. this is marvel vs. capcom without the marvel, and a wii-exclusive.

you have 18 characters to start, 16 regular characters, 2 giant characters (which require no partner to use since they take up most of the screen.) and four additional characters that will not be in the arcade versions of this game.

after playing this game for about a day and a half, this is wii's best fighter, hands down. the options of movement, the quick, responsive controls, awesome characters (even better tatsunoko characters, most of tatsunoko's cast trumps over capcom's in terms gameplay.)

it's so user friendly, it's insane, but if you have some good competition (i.e. force a friend to play with you.) it's a total blast.

the music is comprised of remixes from various capcom titles, and the theme songs from which the tatsunoko characters represent. and it works, i especially like those classic tatsunoko themes, in all of their 70's glory.

the capcom themes aren't bad either, but i won't say anything because, well, you've heard them before..

and alex has his 2 boots 2 da mouf move, which is a super duper plus. have you ever seen a fast grappler? 8ing/capcom pretty much gave alex a crapload of crystal meth, and a 24 pack of redbull all mixed in a giant container for alex to drink in one shot.

so if you like capcom crossovers, mahvel style gameplay, scoops haagen daz and curleh mustaches, give this game a shot.

9.5 (i would give it a 9.0 but read my story on gamefaqs on how i got this game, it was epic win, so it deserves .5 higher...for that alone.)

oh, and the boss is a little biggity *****, you thought abyss was easy? oohhh maaannn...

if you're looking to import, you won't be disappointed.

2 comments:

Anonymous said...

haha sounds neat! my Wii got delayed by like 6 months, so i'm going to get it by the time i'm 31. maybe i should ask my sis to just hang on to it for another year and she can give it directly to my newbord kid!

can't wait to play this one, but i admit, the 3-button thing has me comparing this to CAP FIGHTING JAM and um, DOA >_>

M.Duran said...

hahaha,

when i fired up the game, i got thrown off by the control scheme, i personally think that the advanced techniques make up for it.

this game has A LOT of techniques.

it's like a mix a marvel vs. mechanics and guilty gear mechanics.