Jan 3, 2009

Best AND Worst of 2008

First of all let me express my thanks to the fine dudes of Ripcord Gogger for letting me contribute to the blog, it warms my usually frosty heart. So far, nothing is coming out until Street Fighter IV and Killzone 2 so I've taken up watching bad movies to kill time and replaying the bests of the year. I noticed a worst of 2008 and a best of 2008 page on RG so I thought "Hey, I can do both!". I am also still hacking away at a solid Fallout 3 review so don't be discerned Badmash, I'll get to it.

Anywho, lets list!

The Best of 2008




















This lousy quality pic of First Admiral Falcon represents how much I loved that scene where Blonsky gets kicked into a tree.

Valkyria Chronicles- What should have been GOTY if Jack Black and his vassels of low-tier Hollywood didn't run the show. Valkyria is an immersive experience highlighted by it's Ghibli-esque visuals and TPS styled unit control sort of like Battalion Wars but good. This shows that Sega can still make good games as a seperate developer and they should phase Sonic Team out of the picture, ugh Unleashed... If this game isn't GOTY it should be a shoe-in for Strategy Game of the Year, sorry Red Alert 3 you're kinda like...crap.

Left 4 Dead- Obviously.

Making other maps from other general media in Far Cry 2- Yes, Helm's Deep and the skyscraper scene from Die Hard made out of glass and explosive barrels! YIPPIE KI-YAY MOTHER FARCRY! That was clever...I'm clever.

Me buying Robocop on Blu-Ray- Watching Peter Weller get shot up by Red Forman and his gang of punks in High-Def made me smile. I work for DICK JONES!!!

Gears of War 2- It's as good as GoW 1 but with bots? I'm in. Campaign is terrible. SPOILERS: The Locust Queen is Marcus' mom. Is that true? With the way GoW's "story" works it's sort of believable.

Resident Evil Degeneration- Thank you Capcom.

Resident Evil 5 Demo being the easiest thing to crack ever- Step 1: Google RE 5, Step 2: Download Resident Evil 5 Demo, Step 3: Burn to a CD, Step 4: Put in 360, Step 5: PROFIT. Also, thanks again Capcom.

Street Fighter IV- THANK YOU CAPCOM!!

Mega Man 9- Goddamn it Capcom, screw you. If I wanted to get a paddle up my buttburt I'd go on LavaLife.

Bionic Commando Rearmed-.....Jesus. Hitler's brain explosion...it's beautiful.

Gran Turismo 5 Prologue- This will hold me for a year, GRID sucks and Burnout doesn't let you do the stuff anyone would want to.

Soul Calibur IV- Surprisingly good but still has alot of III in there.

Disgaea 3- GRINDAN.

The First Chapter and Last 2 Chapters of Metal Gear Solid 4- Oh man, the best IS yet to come! Manly tears flowed when Tanker Incident began to play.

Eternal Sonata on PS3- Finally. Will I play it though? No.

The Dark Knight- LOLOLOLOL Best Movie EVAR!!! It's pretty freaking good I must say but Two-Face...why did you DIE!!!? AWWWW!!! NAH!!!! He even has the upturned lip from the series. Christian Bale and his lame Nathan Explosion voice.

Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann- Hey Gainax, good job making Gunbuster 3!! It's a good show but not Gainax's best like Wings of Honneiamise or Gunbuster but it's an improvement from FLCL. Drills. Yes.

Little BIG Planet- Very fun game, I made the first stage from Uncharted and the last part of Halo. Also thinking of making a Spirit stage and City 17. Yeah, inspires originality...sure.

Uncharted 2 trailer- As avid gamer Busta Rhymes so eloquently put... YEEEAH! NATHAN DRAKE IS BACK BAYBAY!!! WHOOOOOOOO!!! Rap = Video Games.

Resistance 2- Co-op levelling, it's like I'm playing WoW!! 60 people scurring around!? It's like I'm playing WoW!! Different colored armor!!? It's like I'm playing WoW.

F.E.A.R 2 trailer- Well, time to break out the adult Pampers because I'm gonna crap myself.

Iron Man- It was cool but not as good as The Incredible Hulk.

The Incredible Hulk- This was better than Iron Man but not as awesome as anything else. Also BLONDIE getting kicked into a TREE!? RAAAAAPTURRRRRRE!!!! That was even better than my Far Cry joke. I bet they're regretting adding me to the ROOSTER by now.

Hellboy II- Not a good move coming out a week before The Dark Knight but it was good. Also no David Hyde Pierce. What was he busy with all that NOTHING he has to do!?

I Am Legend- More like Will Smith and a shaky camera the Movie the Game! It was ok. Had Darkseekers and a guy freaking out and shooting up a mannequin.

Dead Space- System Shock 3.

No More Heroes 2 trailer- Getting a Wii.

Tatsunoko vs Capcom- Really getting a Wii!!

My buddy getting a BlazBlue board and hooking it up to a TV- I must go to Toronto, now.

Fallout 3- Everything but every subway and the ending.


The Worst of 2008












This image expresses all of the feelings I had while playing Alone in the Dark.


Fallout 3's Ending- Ok, they live in a world with a ton of robots and Fawkes was there!! Why did I have to die? I didn't WANT to die yet, I wanted to kill more Super Mutants and mourn the death of Initiate Reddin, the Carmine of this game. Also Moira had a moustache and that's no good.

The second chapter of Metal Gear Solid 4- Also known as 'Nanomachines and Naomi Hunter is Princess Peach.' This is the movie part of the game as most put it.

Mirror's Edge- Groundbreaking doesn't equal good. It has to be a GOOD game as well to go into the Portal category.

Battlefield: Bad Company- Very sad this game died so quickly.

Army of Two- Very sad this game made Heavenly Sword look long.

God of War PSP- Very average. Very, very AVERAGE!

Alone in the Dark- It's like a TV show I don't want to watch and I know would be cancelled in 1 day.

Alone in the Dark Inferno- It's like if the bad TV show got a really bad fanbase that brought it back later on and it still sucked.

Unreal Tournament III on 360- No mods eh? That was the only thing that made this game near playable!

Silent Hill Homecoming- Sorry Clerg, this game is bad Silent Hill fanfiction at it's worst. If this game didn't try to be Silent Hill then it wouldn't be so bad.

Banjo-Kazooie N&B- This game is NOT GOOD despite what people say. Rare's hayday ended with the N64 as did Free Radical's.

Haze- Oh god 4.5. The first half of the game is really bad and broken but the second half, gets oh so much worse.

The Spirit- The greatest worst movie ever, move aside Wild Wild West!! The comic forums and /co/ exploded with a rage that could only put in these words, At least Eisner is dead so he didn't have to see this. That movie made me laugh my ass off even more than Wild Wild West and Demolition Man combined and yes, Toilets ARE always funny.

SOCOM Confrontation- Depressing, thy've fixed it but still...depressing.

Spike VGA Awards- GRAND THEFT AUTO IV!?!?!?!?!?! WHAAAT!? ARE YOU SELIOUS!?
MGS4 does NOT HAVE THE BEST GRAPHICS OF 2008, CRYSIS WARHEAD CAME OUT!! REMEMBER!? OH WAIT, CASUAL STONERS DON'T PLAY PC GAMES!!! Even so, what about FC2? Gazelles! Africa! Yeesh, just a commercial popularity contest. This blog post was presented by Stride gum. Jack Black is a tool.

Endwar- Buy it for the headset, if you have a headset then Tom Clancy should just give up.

Red Alert 3- Disappointing. C&C3 is better than this and I hate C&C3!

Too Human- More like Too Awful! More like Too Glitchy!! More like this joke is Too Overused!!

Operation Darkness- Who knew you could ruin Nazi's and Werewolves with anime.

Fable II- Yeah, that's right. This should be called Fable: The Lost Chapters II because that's all it is. Combat is sloppy and tired, visuals are last gen level, the story and pacing are absolute rubbish, and menial tasks if you get apprehended!? Clean my attic. Screw that. This game is not good, the first Fable was not good. Molyneux did it again.

Square-Enix- Oh you better hope Star Ocean 4 is as good as 1 because Infinite Underwhelming and The Last Recycled Plot gauge the talent at Square-Enix. Enix got too much Sqaure in them and Square got too much Enix in them. Both FF XIII's look like crap.



So yeah those are my thoughts, thanks again for the support and I hop I can be a regular on here or something. Expect these things to come:

Review of Fallout 3

Review of The Spirit

Review of Demolition Man or Robocop 3

My thoughts on Spider-Man

Ciao folks!


EDIT: I cut out the parts that could be potentially hazardous to your relationship with your girlfriend(s) - Mash

5 comments:

M.Duran said...

i killed bob morton because he made a mistake...

NOW IT'S TIME TO ERASE THAT MISTAKE.

Tokaro said...

DICK, YOU'RE FIRRRRREEEEED!!!!!!!

thank you.

BLAM!

M.Duran said...

nice shootin' son what's your name?

...MURPHY

*smiles*

*END CREDITS*

Badmash said...

MURPHY? i've always thought he said "who, me?"

welcome tokaro! :)

p.s. i'm going to mod your article now.

Tokaro said...

Awww jeez, I just got here! :D

You're a ruthless mod, Mash my boi.