
Hey folks, your friendly neighborhood Tokaro-Man is here and is ready to share his feelings on the blockbusta, The Spirit.
Now if you know anything about a fellow named Frank Miller Jr. , you know he has a penchant for women of the night and headshots, also Carmen Elektra getting stabbed in the gut then getting a solo career out of it.
The Spirit came off as a 1950's pulp comic drenched in grim dark thanks to the antics of Mr. Miller and that sorta worked but from what the folks on the Marvel forums and /co/ have said, it is an abomination to Eisner's work.
Let me fill you in on why my buddy and I went to see the antics of Denny Colt with a 29.99 cent mask jumping roof to roof like The Tick. I have NEVER read an issue or any of the adaptations of The Spirit, I have begun to read the Darwin Cooke adaptation but so far, nothing else. I liked Sin City, usually the reason anyone went to see this movie and it has a scene where he back flips up a building. UP! Sweet Lordy 99!! UP!!

"To ask why anything happens in Frank Miller's sludgy, hyper-stylized adaptation of a fabled comic book series by Will Eisner may be an exercise in futility. The only halfway interesting question is why the thing exists at all".
-A.O. Scott
I'll tell you why this exists, to make Wild Wild West and Spider-Man 3 look good. The real problem with The Spirit is pretty much everything, it's pacing is definitely off and if it was meant to be a film noir then it is a weak one, barely following the definition of the genre. Despite what many people think, film noir does not equal black and white, a film noir is a movie in which the protagonist, the usual everyman is flung into insane and unusual circumstances. The Spirit is a film that basically gives you little to nothing at the start other than Gabriel Macht jumping and Jamie King spouting cryptic statements. It assumes the audience knows of The Spirit but at the same time doesn't hold Eisner's comic near and dear to their heart which doesn't make sense. Either you don't know about it or you know everything about it, there is no middle ground.
"Gorgeous cinematography and design can't mask the hollow core and bizarre ugliness of this mishandled comics adaptation," and noted that while Eisner's own Spirit was "an average-Joe [...] in a rumpled suit — a vulnerable but insouciant Everyman in humanist fables", Miller's Spirit "now has a superpower — a healing factor. Eisner's own spirit must be spinning in its grave".
-Frank Lovece, Newsday
Like I said, noir takes the EVERYMAN and not Wolverine and thrusts them into the extraordinary. I have watched a fair deal of film noir and this movie cannot be classified as that at all. Film noir deals with the human condition, this movie has little to no emotional contribution to the viewer. Now these are the gripes I have with it as a movie goer. I happened to think that The Spirit was the funniest comedy I've seen in ages, even funny than The Day Billbert Didn't Post staring Klaatu Reeves. I mean come on, seppuku, a guy getting beaten with a disembodied head that Samuel L. Jackson tore off a dude, Nazis, French Assassin babes? Does this not sound like the best thing ever made!? And yes everyone, toilets ARE ALWAYS FUNNY!! Not as funny as bathtubs but y'know, they do the job.
The Spirit is great if you want the best comedy ever but it may be the worst comic book adaptation since BULK starring Eric Bania and 3 other guys.
Oh yeah and eggs, what the hell was that about!?
I give this movie 3 out of work Frank Miller's out of 10.



Anyway, I hear chicks dig red ties and bad acting so I'm on my way. Catch you on the flipside!
5 comments:
i hate frank miller
i used to think he looks like Marc Silvestri. who looks like Lou Ferrigno minus rubber muscles.
i never ve imagined he'd look like Freddy Krueger plus ugly.
that said, the only time i actually enjoyed anything frank miller has ever done is the sin city movie, and before that, his run on the punisher (marvel comics) with john romita jr.
I enjoyed his Man Without Fear issues especially the death of Elektra.
which reminds me, i've to stop myself from watching the death of elektra starring jennifer garner this weekend.
can't forget the death of daredevil starring ben affleck.
Post a Comment