May 29, 2009

RE $0.00 (Disc 1 review)

Resident Evil 0 is a Gamecube exclusive RE game, which means all you N-GAGE owners can cry for the rest of your lives.

The game's engine works along the lines of the canceled version of Resident Evil 4 AKA classic RE games, i.e. you move your character along rendered still backgrounds. Only this time, the still backgrounds sometimes scroll a little bit.

We start off with the apparently timid STARS paramedic Rebecca Chambers chasing an escaped convict and winding up on a runaway train plagued by zombies, Orochi dogs, nasty mutated leeches, and a 30ft hi-fi Scorpion with a wicked sting and Dolby surround sound.


Rebecca is the girl with short hair and military gear
and Billy is the guy with long hair, tight jeans and a tank-top.
Which means the character designer could've been drunk. (Or a retard.)


Sooner or later, Rebecca and the convict known as Billy "The Kid" together de-rail the train. You get to play both characters throughout the game and can switch between them by pressing one of the 57 buttons on the Gamecube controller.


The Gamecube controller is quite friendly for 8-fingered aliens
(and even looks like one)


This makes for pretty interesting puzzles - like for instance, leave Billy in one room and send Becky into another. Push a switch or something that puts Billy into major trouble and makes you feel like a dope, so you have to switch over to Billy and get him out of there. Sometimes you have to do stuff together, except make out.

On the over-all, this game is classic Resident Evil material. And by classic I mean dope. And by dope I mean awesome. And by awesome I mean "Not Made By SKN."

Find a Gamecube and play this game if you can, it's very good~

My score: 49 Gamecube controller buttons / XBIX controller

May 28, 2009

Short XBL download review imo

I downloaded Rez HD from BrickBox Live Arcade.

This game fries my brain. It's worse than drugs.

May 22, 2009

inFamous: The Game: The Demo: The Review

It's like Crackdown with lightning bolts and Sly Cooper jumps.

Pants

Mentlegen.
















I didn't end up seeing TERMINATOR BEGINS(AND ENDS AT THE SAME TIME LAWL) because I heard it was bad, I also didn't play the game because I heard it was WORSE!


May 20, 2009

Check it!

Nostalgia Warp




The original title of this article was going to be 'Spirit Evolution'
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YUSzqnjakGM

Hey everyone, my 360 broke! YAY! Yeah it finally happened to me, E69 bros. Now I can't play GoW2, the only reason I got a 360 for $199.99 US . What have I been doing with my time, you ask? Why playing SF IV and browsing the /v/ obviously.

But other than that I was watching an episode of the old Robocop cartoon with my buddy yesterday on a 1990's nostalgia bender. Turns out the Robocop cartoon is awful, didn't see that coming!! I bring you the heartwarming tale of Alex Murphy and a police lieutenant scorned. It really ranks up there with SF USA in bad.





I would give my soul to get with these dancing asian girlies. MY SOUL!!


So anyway onto reviews of stuff.

Star Trek 9/10- Holy JESUS this movie was good! I thought it was going to be garbaggio! However it was lacking in Ricardo Moltobaln and saving endangered whales. I STABBETH THEE!!

Killing Floor 7/10- Pretty good, Left 4 Dead but taking itself too seriously.

Samurai Showdown Anthology7/10- I think I reviewed this already but it's ok. It's worth getting for VI alone but V and III man.

Zeno Clash- 6.5/10- Either Dark Messiah done wrong or Mirror's Edge done right. A pretty neat game overall.

Meet The Spy 10/10-Hilarious, watch this immediately.



Other than that I haven't played much, waiting for InFAMOUS and X Edge, gonna send my 360 away. Nice job, Microsoft....nice job.

Also Mai is flat in the KOF movie, let's just say what I had to say to Shadowchief would get me banned from this blog.

Gonna go see TERMINATOR SALIVATING and maybe not go see Quentin Tarintino Presents Kill Hitler Vol 8



















Tokaro:OH MAI GOD! HAVE THEY NOT PLAYED KOF BEFORE!?
Badmash: Lol, no one has!

May 16, 2009

INSTANT GAME REVIEW

Tatsunoko vs. Capcom = HE WHO JABS FIRST, WINS.

This has been Luis H. Garcia's instant game review. Enjoy!

May 14, 2009

NOT-SO-INSTANT GAME REVIEW

Million Knights Vermillion = IT'S A TRAP!















Now here's what it actually looks like....



This has been Luis H. Garcia's not-so-instant game review. Enjoy!

May 6, 2009

Will.I.Am vs The Jumping Wolf-Man



So I saw Australian Actors Origins: HUGH JERKMAN yesterday and I was pleasantly surprised....pleasantly surprised WITH THE LEVEL OF SUCK!!!! I mean jeez, they should have just called the movie, lets ruin all of the Wolverine, X-Factor and Deadpool comics you ever read and make Emma Frost a teenager and NOT EVIL and then pull a Battle Arena Toshinden and use the old "I know all of your techniques" gimmick at the end.













Sure is NOT DEADPOOL in here!!

Yeah, Deadpool was a massive disappointment to say the least. For one, he came off as basically sword wielding Will Ferrel in his demeanor and yet they didn't give the viewer enough time with this new and awful Deadpool to get used to him or even like him. He was in the movie for a good 10-20 minutes, disappears then reappears as the main baddie in the final fight scene. Also, Deadpool doesn't have Baraka arms, why didn't they just forge adamantium katanas!? That would have been ok, even sort of neat! But NOOOO! We made him a multi-power using douchebag with a stitched up mouth and Baraka claws.

Look comics are make believe and all but I mean come on, at least respect someone elses character enough to not butcher them to an insane degree. I know it's an adaptation and all and these kids today (like the double collared frat boys sitting in front of me during this movie) can't expend too much time trying to get the story but jeez! JEEZ! Deadpool isn't complicated!

Guy has cancer, guy gets surgery, healing factor regresses cancer, guy breaks fourth wall alot. The End.

But no, nonono, that's too much. Lets make him Ryan Reynolds instead.

I hated Ryan Reynolds in Blade 3 and I really hated him in this but at least he wasn't a vulgar ****head in this movie.

Hugh Jackman the Movie 2/10, I should have called this I get mad at how bad Deadpool is The Review.


http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/hr/content_display/film/news/e3i605e3e8798d54f48f94931da65c7b144

May 5, 2009

Hot off the Presses















Hey everyone, it's me! That guy! Dr. Sub-Zero 2! How's it hanging folks? For me, not so bueno but y'know it could be worse. I could be dead or playing COUGH 2001 or something.

So I've got some news, reviews and lots of boos that I want to get off of my chest.

First of all, dear fighting games community especially DAREALMASTA. I do not like SNK (yeah I spelt it right), I don't. Folks I know IRL say the big T has been negatively influenced by The Mash and such whn in fact that is not the case. I find the majority of SKN games mediocre all around and not that fun minus the few exceptions such as KOF 2003 (yeah that's right, I like 2003 more than XI and 98 when in fact it is total garbage.)

I tried getting into 98 UM and it has become apparent that driving a nail into my wang via hammer would be less painful than fighting Krauser. I've become more and more distant with the current SKN games. They aren't that fun. I will most likely buy KOF XII to see if it's anything spectacular but as I said above I think 98 UM sucks and it's the best one without a shadow of a doubt. Also, with the growing interest in KOF XII stateside, I've come to the conclusion that SKN is like the video game equivalent to Studio GAINAX. When they hit the nail on the head with any sort of effect, they will wh*** it out for years to come. Hence products like the KOF shump, KOF MMO, KOF Movie, KOF date sim, Pachinko and so on. The same is done for a show like Neon Genesis Evangelion. When it became super popular back in the 90's they churned out the eroge games and such and are still making products to this day. SKN finally gets a chance to do the same outside of China and Mexico

However the difference between SKN and GAINAX is that GAINAX churns out spectacular work on a regular basis. SKN has made about 3-5 good games.

  • The King of Fighters 98
  • The King of Fighters XI
  • Garou: MOTW
  • Last Blade 2
  • Metal Slug 3 (7 is arguable)
I compare them to GAINAX what with them being piss poor and wh***ing merchandise like no one can. SKN, please remain humble. Fatgoon is gone and he was half of the ego of the company, please do not start developing your own because you guys traced some 3d models and called them sprites. Get me a Wacom tablet and I can do that too. Apparently so can Arc Sys.

KOF 2002 UM looks like a broken OTG fest. I mean Nameless for example, he has like 6 moves that lift off the ground, one of them being a 40 hit DM. And why is this folks? Because broken is popular! Everyone likes MvC2 right!? No. Not everyone likes MvC2, SKN. In fact it's a garbage game with the worst community of all time. Black dudes yelling "AW S*** SON, DAT CABLE GOT YOO ON LOCKDAWN! AAWWW BAYBAY!!"

Do you want KOF to become that? Well SKN, it never will because NO ONE LIKES KOF! If it wasn't for Mexico, you guys would be bankrupt (again.), you don't have the wide variety of games that a powerhouse like Capcom does (and don't get me wrong, Capcom is a shady company who churn out half assed crap all the time). You have to get Ignition to localize games like 98 UM a year after release! When is KOF XII slated, June 2012!?

But hey! The grafikz! They're bootyful! No, they aren't. They are totally disproportionate and the animations are incredibly slow. Apparently the frames are going to be sped up but that may cause as many issues as keeping them sluggish, you have to draw multiple frames to make up for the speed difference. Also, from what this reporter has heard, SKN doesn't draw frames because when Terry does Burn Knuckle he just poofs out of existence like The Flash and decks them in the face rather than the fly forward animation that we're used to and at least makes more sense than the Hungry Wolf using the Speed Force!!

He just appears in your face!!

But anyway, on with other stuff.

DW Gundam 2 -Quattro Bajeena is a CHAR! Best DW game since 5 Empires.Very addictive but if you don't like DW you won't like this. 7/10

Wolverine aka Australian Actors Origins: Hugh Jackman- The cutscenes are what the movie should have been! The game is just lousy beat-em up though. 4/10

WarioWare Inc.-Yeah it took me about this long to play it. Pretty fun, pretty stupid. Jimmy is amazing. 6/10

N+- If you played N-Game, this is the upgrade on crack! 8/10

Disgaea 2 Portable- Not as good as Disgaea 3, not as funny as Disgaea 1, not as good as FFT but Adell has a tie and Rozalin is hot. 7/10

Sonic Chronicles The Dark Brotherhood- I wish this was just a re-skin of Mass Effect. It's probably the best Sonic related game that has come out for about 5 years. It's a good RPG, give it a shot. 8.5/10

Prinny- Pretty hard, I didn't expect that what with the 1000 lives thing but yeah, I'm pretty afraid of this game kicking my ass. It's pretty good, pick it up if it isn't sold out. 7/10

Romancing SaGa- Wow, this game is amazilicious! Man if The Last Remnant sucked less and had better art direction and no Johnny Yong Bosch and no load times and fun and a good battle system and more charcters and PS2 graphics. I don't know what I was getting at but this game was an amazing find! 10/10

Tenchu 2 Stealth Assasins- Back when Tenchu was good. 8/10

Final Fantasy VII- This is not the greatest game ever made GameFaqs, sorry. It's a good game but IX is better and that's just out of the PSX ones. 7.5/10

MadWorld- Made me want a Wii. And that's pretty tough! Look Pimpin'/10

Megaman Powered Up- SO HARD! OH MAN!! WHAT!? SO HAAAAARD!!! GOD DAAAAAAAMN! One of the best MM games. 9/10


So yeah those are my reviews and I'm gonna see Hugh Jackman The Movie tonight with some chums, it should be




May 2, 2009

And for the 110th blog post, a bunch of informal reviews!

I did a few things in the past few weaks. I'm going to review them all:


Dragonball Evolution

One of the best movies I've ever watched. It is so bad in all the best ways. This almost as corny as the original Street Fighter movie. Watch it and laugh. My favorite parts are Goku's off the wall facial expressions when he's powering up or getting pissed.



Street Fighter: The Legend of Chun Li

This movie is so bad in all the worst ways. Avoid this movie like the plague, even if Kristin Kruek or whoever is incredibly hot and so is that Asian girl who plays Rose. Just watch the first movie again, because it was Tuesday IMO.




Dynasty Warrior Gundam (1 and 2)

I have mixed feelings on these games. It's pretty much a big Gundam fanservice game with some decent combat. It's just that I hate some of the spotlighted character and LOVE some of the others. Namely, I really hate Gundam Wing's protagonist Heero Yuyii and his Mary Sue ness. But I absolutely love Domon Kashuu, the protagionist of G Gundam, and all of his shouting. "This hand of mine is burning red! It's roar tells me to grasp victoryyyyy! ERRRRUPTTTING BURNINNNNNG FINGAAAAAAH!"

Don't expect for this to be a Giant Robo game. It's exactly what it says in the title: a Dynasty Warrior game with Gundams. And that's not a bad thing at all. You pilot one of your favorite Gundam heroes, and fight in a battle full of generic mobile suit peons, with the other famous Gundam pilots as the bosses.

The combat is pretty decent. The first game, you get a sequence of normal attacks that can be comboed into one power attack. This power attack can then be canceled into a dash, allowing you to follow up the power attack with a dash attack sequence. Any move and hit stun can be canceled into super (just press B button). The second game allows you to cancel the dash attacks into another dash, allowing you to combo as much as you like (as long as you have boost meter). However, since this game is about killing hundreds of enemies, you won't be worrying much about comboing on unit until you get into a boss fight.

I love this game pretty much just for the two playable G Gundam characters, Domon Kashuu and Master Asia.




Phanstary Online Episode 1

I've been through the Forest level a million times now and I'm still can't stop playing. WTF.




Street Fighter IV tournaments

Pretty fun. I lost to a Sagat player and an El Fuetre player.