May 29, 2009

RE $0.00 (Disc 1 review)

Resident Evil 0 is a Gamecube exclusive RE game, which means all you N-GAGE owners can cry for the rest of your lives.

The game's engine works along the lines of the canceled version of Resident Evil 4 AKA classic RE games, i.e. you move your character along rendered still backgrounds. Only this time, the still backgrounds sometimes scroll a little bit.

We start off with the apparently timid STARS paramedic Rebecca Chambers chasing an escaped convict and winding up on a runaway train plagued by zombies, Orochi dogs, nasty mutated leeches, and a 30ft hi-fi Scorpion with a wicked sting and Dolby surround sound.


Rebecca is the girl with short hair and military gear
and Billy is the guy with long hair, tight jeans and a tank-top.
Which means the character designer could've been drunk. (Or a retard.)


Sooner or later, Rebecca and the convict known as Billy "The Kid" together de-rail the train. You get to play both characters throughout the game and can switch between them by pressing one of the 57 buttons on the Gamecube controller.


The Gamecube controller is quite friendly for 8-fingered aliens
(and even looks like one)


This makes for pretty interesting puzzles - like for instance, leave Billy in one room and send Becky into another. Push a switch or something that puts Billy into major trouble and makes you feel like a dope, so you have to switch over to Billy and get him out of there. Sometimes you have to do stuff together, except make out.

On the over-all, this game is classic Resident Evil material. And by classic I mean dope. And by dope I mean awesome. And by awesome I mean "Not Made By SKN."

Find a Gamecube and play this game if you can, it's very good~

My score: 49 Gamecube controller buttons / XBIX controller

3 comments:

sour.grapes said...

now i want to get back to playing this game!

Funky Strong said...

Man, I can't stand old RE games. I don't WANT to find the car battery inside of the town statue!

Badmash said...

haha the battery puzzle in this game was pretty genuine. and this is maybe the only RE game where i went past disc-1 in blazing record time without reading a single FAQ and loving every moment of it.