sonic unleashed would've been the best game ever had sonic team focused more on the day-time levels. the werehog levels aren't bad, it just slows down the pacing A LOOOOTT... and it doesn't make it any better that sonic team basically tries to shove the werehog concept down your throat by making you play more night-time acts than day-time acts. but it's really cool to bash the **** out of your enemies while flailing your wii-mote/ nunchuck up and down like a kid with down syndrome, it's satifying in that aspect, the platforming is solid, though it's nothing TOO OMGZREVOLUTIONARIEZ.
over all, this game could've gotten a really high score from me, honestly, but i'd give it an 8. had it not been for the over abundance of werehog levels, this game would've easily been a 9, maybe higher. this is coming from a sonic fan, and it seems to me that sonic team is finally getting it. no cheap deaths, the camera is solid, the controls are solid, the music is awesome, gone are the 80's hard rock stylings of passed sonic games, and in are more traditional sonic themed levels.
they got the engine right, if only sonic team did away with their tendancy to disappoint...
skate it is a great skateboarding game on the wii. probably the best, and probably a little easier to play on the wii that a 360 or ps3. san vanelona has experienced a set of natural disasters destroying the city in the process, now you and your camera guy are left to skate san vanelona, as well as other real world locales.
the control scheme is every bit as rewarding than the 360 and ps3 iterations, feeling that with every bail on the board, you feel the need to nail that trick.
the levels aren't whacky or anything, they're pretty much built to skate in. nothing fancy, this is all about your precision and timing, but if you get extra creative, nothing's impossible.
this is a great way to wet your palette before skate 2 comes out.
my only negative for the game. considering that games like mario galaxy, smash bros. brawl, the legend of zelda, and sonic unleashed look great on the system, EA really doesn't have any excuse for making this game look sub-par.
very washed out visuals, and unproportinal bodies are a real drag considering what the wii is truly capable of the that department.
but the gameplay is there, and that's what really counts right?
8.5
any skating fan who is tired of the tony hawk games in general should give this one a whirl.
no bogus journey review because my next review(s) will be on:
sonic unleashed 360
prince of persia 360
tatsunoko vs. capcom
i'm also heading down to chinatown fair after this little get together with my art buddies is over with, and i'll prolly press my luck in street fighter iv.
maybe a short review there??
who knows, but the three games that i've posted are definitely going up there soon.
-m
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment