10. Achievements: i hate these stupid things. i hate playing a game, and a message pops up saying i just got 10 gamer points because i did some silly task. oh boy, i completed a stage, better give me those points that i can`t do anything with! get lose.
9. RPG`s with Inventory Limitations: if you`re going to be a game that throws butt loads of items at me, for the love of God Rugal don`t make me have to fiddle around and decide what to keep and what to toss. just let it all pile in that giant backpack and sit there and do nothing.
8. Armor Not Changing How You Look: if i put new armor on, i want some sort of cosmetic change. weapons look different, but in too many games armor looks the same. this pissed me off to no end in Infinite Undiscovery. there are games where it happens, so i don`t see why they still make games where it doesn`t.
7. Breakable Weapons: it`s one thing to have wear and tear on weapons so it reduces their effectiveness, but to have them just shatter and be gone forever really steams my clams. and any game i have played where this happens, to offset the fact that you were continually breaking your weapons, they would just have 500 billion weapons laying around. so it has never been an issue of being weaponless through this mechanic. it has been an issue of constantly equipping a new weapon.
6. Escort Missions: these wouldn`t be so bad if the goddamn people you were escorting didn`t seem so bent on getting themselves killed. they either get in your way, move through groups of enemies, and just stand around taking damage. and if you are able to issue commands to them, they are apparently just suggestions. ass.
5. Non-Controllable Squads: this is an extension of the Escort Mission gripe. any game i have played that had AI team mates for you, they always were unreal useless. they block your view, throw grenades at you, freak out in corners. they just don`t DO anything useful. stay home, let me handle this alone.
4. Teleporter Puzzles: these are simply a huge pain the rear. i don`t even think i need to explain this.
3. Quick-Time Events: i simply hate being punished because i can`t hit a button in a fraction of a second. and a lot of the time it`s not even like, well i missed it, but i just took some damage or didn`t get something extra. no, i missed it, i friggin` died. i`m here to play your stupid game, not SLAP JACK.
2. Unskippable Cutscenes/Credits: if i played your dumb game already, and i want to play it again for whatever reason, i don`t need to see all of the stupid story again. and unskippable credits? that should be criminal. it`s usually in games that have a new game+ feature too. if i wanted to know the 6,000 people who made this game, i`d go look it up.
1. Insane/Inane Requirements: things like the Chocobo Race in FFX where you have to get UNDER 0 seconds or BEAT THIS GAME IN THE MOST UNFUN AND IMPOSSIBLE WAY requirements in Metal Gear Solid games. the items and features they unlock are not needed, thats a fact, but come on. i paid for this effing game, cut me some slack. you know what? i can dodge 200 lightning bolts, but why should i have to? it takes too damn long and it`s boring and when you mess up at 198 you have to start all over? this is a game, not a job.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
3 comments:
Oh man, your mentioning of dodging lighting bolts brought back painful memories.
QTEs are an essential and awesome gaming feature simply because they are the main gameplay mechanic of VIP.
if i'd've made this list, i'd probably put achievement on #1, and everything else on #1.5
Post a Comment