Aug 27, 2008

More like Whore Calibur 4

I thought Soul Calibur 3 was a great game, and overall Soul Calibur 4 is slightly better, but I think it should be better than it is. Being able to select different body types is huge, and the colouring system is way better. I'm a little frustrated by this game though because it could have been incredibly better with very little effort. So here's my list of my 5 pet Soul Calibur 4 peeves in ascending order:

5: Why do all the guys have to be gay? You basically have your choice between lace and frills or bondage gear. The male character creation system shouldn't be exclusively a fruit factory. I mean, I do want to be able to make some fruits, but I'd also like to be able to make guys I think look cool. You know how badly I wanted to have a Terry Bogard vs Hitler match? Impossible. Which brings me to no. 4...

4: Can we stop pretending that this is a medieval themed weapons combat game now? We have an S&M queen with a magic sword-whip, a goth teen with a sharpened hula hoop, Elvis and Bruce Lee's gene spliced clone with NUMBCHUCKS, some half demon thing with a sword shaped eyeball, and Ving Rhames with a wheat cutter. I tried to think of a funny way to describe Voldo, but he's too weird. Cenobite Scissorhands maybe? Anyway, instead of giving us 10 different hakama and 15 different ridiculous fantasy armours, could you have given us fewer of those and some other types of items instead? Maybe an ordinary long-sleeved shirt? Perhaps a pair of sneakers? Would that really be so out of place? A greater variety in the type of items would be really nice.

3: If you've programmed the graphics for something, can I use it how I want to please? It makes no sense to me that you can't wear the monocle AND the bandit mask at the same time, or that the ONLY way to get little knife belt on the thigh is to wear the effing stupid Jester pants. Maybe I want to wear the dancer's bracelets WITH the princess gloves. Why can't I? And on a related note...

2: More accessories. More categories for stuff. In SC3 there was a separate category for BELTS. I want belts back, but there's so much more. Accessories are super important and I want a different category for every single one. If you're going to program them into the game anyway, what's adding another item slot? The hard part is done already. I want bracelets, garters, necklaces, tattoos, masks, eyewear, scarves, capes, makeup, and BELTS, all of which already exist in the game in some fashion, only you're limited in how you can use them. Also I want earrings, nose rings, lip rings, every other piercing, hand bags, scars, anklets, rings, badges, halos, horns, bindis, arm bands, you name it it, I'd like it in the game. I know it's unreasonable to ask for everything you want, but come on. Maybe a just couple? At least the scars? Scars would be so kickass.

1: Can we have everything we used to have in SC3 back? I mean, I'd like to have BELTS back obviously, but there were other things too. Like two categories for each upper and lower wear, which was super handy. And you could change lip colour. And skin tone wasn't automatically adjusted towards looking natural (or not to the same degree.) And it didn't care if your items conflicted with each other, it just let you decide if it looked stupid. It's really frustrating when you want to do something you could in the last game but you can't in this one for no reason whatsoever. The game could actually do it with no extra programming, it's just that they removed the options.

Well, that's it. Could have been a much better game. I think I made some good suggestions, too bad there's a 0% chance Namco will read this. I just hope they run wild with DLC.

11 comments:

Lordy said...

Is there any way to edit the thing once I've posted it? I made a spelling mistake and and a typo and I'd like to fix them. Although "toob bad" was kinda funny, I might just leave that anyway.

Badmash said...

i actually thought you meant YouToob's bad, and i totally agree! well, an easy way to edit your posts is to click on the heading / title of your post.. this will take you to a new page that is basically the same, but now there is no post on the page except yours. scroll calibur all the way down until you see a lil pencil-icon. that's the EDIT ICON. man, you just got the good ending!

Badmash said...

speaking of EDIT, i hope there's more to this game than CHARACTER EDIT MODE, although i totally doubt it.

Lordy said...

I would never say YouTube is bad because I love it too much.

As for there being more to Soul Calibur than character edit mode, I dunno. Celph says it's a great fighting, but I'd rather just play DRESS UP DOLLY with it.

Unknown said...

there is a somewhat dumbed down RPS game and a total SWEAR WORD INVENTER minigame

Badmash said...

which reminds me, i'm going to steal that idea for my 3-minute CONTRA 4 DS video review that i will put up over the weekend on YouTube!

of course, i'm j/kidding about stealing that idea, but for the last 2 days i've had a pretty similar idea for Contra 4 anyway :p

Badmash said...

haha ving rhames!

Tokaro said...

Man, I hear you. They made the game pretty hollow and pretended it was depth. Also, random character always gives me Mr.Heart with Cassandra's stance, which is fun for the whole family. All and all, good post.

Mazin said...

I still don't get Soul Calibur 4. It should stop trying to have mass appeal while trying to satisfy the fighting game crowd. If they want to do a Dead or Alive, do it, but don't pony around with the idea that they game has any authenticity anymore. It died with SC2 exclusive characters.

And why did they slow down the game? Talk about draining the flow from the game...

Badmash said...

i remember trying to play SC2. it was like playing SF2TURBO on Turbo 7, minus the gameplay.

Unknown said...

SC has been going downhill since SC1. 3 nearly killed the whole thing and Jiggle Calibur 4 (Or Soul Jiggler 4) is at least quasi-playable now but it's still the same copy-pasta we've been putting up with for years, only now with mango artists adding crappy characters who are just cheap clones and Star Wars people. Next game might as well be called "Your ad here" Also trying to get items to even remotely create characters (who wind up being clones anyway) is a grind fest.

SC is the FIGHTAN GAEM for AAR PEE JEE/animu-tards who liek girlie men with BIIIIIG swordz, lolies with giant racks and the saem crap taht fanz refuse to admit that it's been played out for too long.

P.S. Voldo is the only reason I still play the game.