It's irritating because some of the character designs they have are rather nice and interesting, and the concepts they come up with are pretty good. But everytime they start to get the right idea going, they just take a huge crap all over everything and shove the game out while laughing the whole while. I mean seriously, an unblockable lk(Foxy 2k1)? How the hell does that happen?
It's also interesting to know that SNK's own characters are awesome in CvS2, when they're being done by another company. Fantastic. It's as if a good SNK fighting game is totally doable, but they prefer to act like some bizzaro world Nike.
SNK: Just Don't Do It
They're good at crushing your hopes, too. I really wanted SvC: Chaos to be good. I really did. I personally really liked Shiki's gameplay design, and now the only decent game with her in it is TERRIBLE. This has lead to an amazing mindset everyone should go by: Assume any fighting game by SNK that's coming out is going to be ABSOLUTE GARBAGE. That way if it DOES finally pull its head out of its own ass, you'll be blown the hell away.
But hey, miracles have been preformed in the past, and if someone can have an UMK3 tournament somewhere besides their mom's basement, anything is possible.

3 comments:
is that her hair? or a prop from the 1939 WIZARD OF OZ movie?
SKN's whole problem is that they've been too enthusiastic to scrap everything they've built in favour of trying out some new gimmick. They've never learned that making good fighting games is about tweaking, not wholesale revision.
SNK's idea of design is very much like Capcom's design in the versus games, trying a new system but with the stability of old gameplay. Capcom however, did it right and knew when to call it in. SKN will keep trying until they reach a sufficient level of mediocrity.
On another note, my favorite KOF is 2003 so that voids my opinon. Ja ja!
Post a Comment