This was the very first game I ever played on the PS2, perhaps 3 or 4 years ago. I had only recently finished playing MGS1 and didn't really find that to have been a memorable experience. In fact, I'd say MGS1 was overrated and blown out of proportion.
But MGS2 was fantastic, because (i) the caption "SONS OF LIBERTY" was the coolest thing I'd ever heard, and (ii) the game actually had graphics, as compared to the craptacular murky triangles of MGS1.
Plus the gameplay was rock-solid, this time around you got to look around corners, and the camera would zoom in without making a big green mess of your TV-screen. Plus SNAKE could roll around and stuff. The soundtrack could possibly not have been better.
"No, SNAKE, that's a barrel. It's not what you think.
He's holding a gun. No, not THAT gun!"
The only minus point would be having to play as JACK and talk to ROSE. Yuck. But I guess that's Hideo Kojima telling us that outside of the fluke that is MGS2, he's actually completely out of ideas.
METAL GEAR SOLID 3 SNACK EATER
This is the final official MGS game on the PS2. This time, we go back in time to play as.. no, not young SNAKE, but SNAKE's dad. Who happens to look exactly the same, sound exactly the same, and have the same name as the SNAKE we've come to know over the years. But SNAKE looks quite dashing with his rugged stubble and longer hair, and proceeds to completely rip off JAMES BOND.
Among the new gameplay features, you get to body-paint the chiseled soldier-boy and take off his shirt. Fun stuff, I guess. If you're a girl. Or [bleep!]ing gay.
More like 'Tootie Fruity' camo.
Let's face the truth: MGS3 is a frustrated teenager's wild babe-fantasy, with a bunch of music, graphics, gameplay, guns, bad guys, and complex storyline put around it smartly to camouflage it.
I'm not saying that's a bad thing.
RESIDENT EVIL 4
RE4 is the best suitcase-packing sim that I've ever played. It's also the only suitcase-packing sim I've ever played, because it's the only one anyone has ever made.
A screen-shot from the RE4 side-story.
When you're not busy playing the main game i.e. packing your suitcase, you're working on the game's side-story: dishing out revenge on the distant cousins of the TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE badguys. I'm not sure if that sounds like fun for everyone, but hey, who said this is SUPER SMASH BROS?
On the PS2 version, you also get a bunch of extra-games after beating the main game once. Like for instance, you get to play as the mysterious ADA WONG. Which makes you wonder why she wasn't the main character. I mean come on, if you had a choice, who would you pick? The dude packed in a heavy bomber-jacket in the middle of a desert, or the babe in a thigh-baring red silk dress?
No, i m not posting NE pix of her, k? sry.
SHADOW OF THE COLOSSUS
Imagine you're playing CONTRA without a single bad-guy running around the stage. All you need to do is climb or run your way to the Boss, and fight him to proceed to the next stage.
Now imagine you're playing CONTRA, but you're on a horse.
Now imagine you're playing CONTRA, but armed only with a sword.
Now imagine you're playing CONTRA in super slow-motion.
Now imagine you're not playing CONTRA.
SILENT HILL 2
TOMB RAIDER ANNIVERSARY
ONIMUSHA
FATAL FRAME 2 CRIMSON BUTTERFLY
CAPCOM VS SKN 2
DEVIL MAY CRY 1 and 3
2 comments:
hmmm, my top ten would have to be..
- MGS2
- street fighter 3 third strike
- guilty gear XX (whatever version they're on now.)
- berserk
- prince of persia: the sands of time
- capcom vs. snk 2
- street fighter alpha anthology
- max payne
- ssx on tour
- tony hawk's underground
my top ten changes too... damn ocd.
i deliberately left out SFAA on purpose because i'd played enough of that on my PS1. i'm going to make a change too and add PERSONA3 in there, and probably get rid of FATAL FRAME FURY 2.
Post a Comment