that i'm not into video games as much as i used to be.... i wonder why?
i met up with a friend from campus, this dude that i used to play brawl with, and he was talking about games and stuff, usually, the 15 year old in me would be like "HOLY EFFING SHI-BALLS U LIKE DIS GAEM TOO?" but it just seemed bleak, and for the first time i shrugged.
this applies to my current subscription to game informer, years ago i would be super stoked, but i flip these pages only to be pummeled to the ground by endless and unsuccessful attempts to grab my attention. this led me to believe that maybe i'm losing my touch, maybe, i'm *gasp* growing older, and really drifting away from a somewhat childish hobby, but in truth. it's not me. it's the stuff that's coming out.
you see, i can claim that the playstation 2 is the best system ever, well...i lied, i think the dreamcast is, as a matter of fact, i still have these two bastards hooked up to my crummy television set in my room.
there was originality on a lot of their releases (speaking on behalf of the DC) , albeit a lot of bad ones as well... i miss those days where i can get really suped on something coming out, in my case this is street fighter iv, and tatsunoko vs. capcom. my wii will actually be used for something OTHER than surfing the web and on youtube!!!
to backtrack, all the way to paragraph...3, i'm a fighting game fan, i may not be the best player of these kinds of games, i may not know every nook and crannie to their technical prowess, i just enjoy beating the tar out of something. this love goes back when i first had a sega genesis at 6 years old (that is either back in 92 or 93...) and i got the first mortal kombat game, and super street fighter 2. i was in loooove with this genre, the fact that it can replace real-life school fights, you can take that straight to the console and or an arcade, and your worth was proved by that.
i have this nostalgic connection with them, and all jokes aside (skn lol.) i really loved these games growing up. fast foward about 15 years later, and i still have that nostalgic feeling. i'm not much of a 3-d fighting fan, perhaps it's a bit too technical for me, but that doesn't mean that i enjoy them, i mean, i think VF 5 is probably the deepest 3-d fighter ever.
if i go to the chinatown arcade, i feel right at home sometimes, seeing street fighter iv there was like me in bayonne at the electric playground, when they first released street fighter III...
anyway, this is a total mess of a blog, and i just wanted to write something to write something.
kinda thrown-off that this is specifically for video games and movies.
i'll write a review about se7en and how after watching it so many times, it still never ceases to amaze me...
maybe i'll talk about zach and miri make a porno next week...
to summarize, you silly video game developers, if you want to truly interest me, you better dedicate most of your development to fighting games.
end.
-m
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
3 comments:
doc, you need to go thru CC's all-star review of VF5.
and you know what, i totally agree with your arguments.
except that you know what, maybe you really are growing up!
The average age of gamers is 30, so I don't think you're too old. I think if you grew up gaming, you're a gamer for life.
Also, this BROGGU is ostensibly for games and movies, but that doesn't mean you can't write other stuff if you feel like it. At least, Mash lets me get away with it.
UH OH...
seriously, gaming was a HUUUGE part of my life, i mean, a good buddy of mine is playing CALL OF DOODY 4 as i type this.
but it just doesn't register with me as much anymore.
but if it's fighting games, that's a different story.
though, even they can bore me at times... BAAAWWWWW~
Post a Comment